Update your Dictionaries

March 18, 2006 at 8:13 pm | Posted in Personal, Raves | 2 Comments
Tags:

I once saw Roger Ebert say, “This is an anti-American film. I’m giving it a thumbs-down, but not because it’s anti-American. I’m giving it a thumbs-down because it’s a bad film. If I were to watch a good film with strong anti-American elements, I would give it a thumbs-up”

I really appreciate that kind of objectivism in a critic.

Why am I telling you this?

Several months ago, my clever girlfriend whimsicalzephyr co-created the emo-esque word “blogvomit”, which refers to someone vomitting all of her distressful emotions into her blog. As I understand it, it could be used as a noun – ie. Her blog contains a lot of blogvomit, or as an intransitive verb – ie. I blogvomit on a regular basis.

Why am I telling you this?

Well, I was going to blogvomit today, but instead I ended up writing this wikipedia-first-draft entry instead. Now in the future, if you ever see the word “blogvomit” in my subject line or in the first sentence of my blog entry, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

I mentioned the bit about Roger Ebert really for my own benefit most of all. I’m reminding myself that even though there is already an abundance of blogvomit in the world, it’s OK for me to commit further blogvomit, just as long as it’s good blogvomit.

And now, because it’s such a fun word, I’ll say it one more time –

blogvomit.

No, that didn’t quite do it. I know, I shall stand and proudly proclaim it to the mountains –

BLOG-VOMIT!!

*echoe* – *echoe* – *echoe* – *echoe* – *echoe*

Previous Personal Stuff:

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. blogvomit

    Have you thought of submitting that to the urban dictionary?
    http://www.urbandictionary.com/
    On the other hand, I can’t access the urban dictionary from work, but I can use wikipedia.

  2. what good is having a blog if you never use it for blogvomit?


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

