Biology Lab Exam

August 4, 2006 at 8:16 pm | Posted in Medical, Personal | 6 Comments
Tags:

I had my biology lab exam today.

Part of the exam involved looking at a discected pig and identifying organs that were marked with pins.

Now I did discect a pig this semester; but unfortunately, my messy discected little oinker didn’t really look a lot like the pig that they had today. So even though I have seen the inside of a pig, I had trouble identifying what most of the pins were sticking out of.

There was a nicely discected pig for me to look at on the day that I did my discection, but I didn’t look at it because I was in a hurry to get out of there. So, I can’t really blame anybody else for my difficulty.

On the other hand, I don’t think that actually discecting the pig helped me understand the inner workings of it. I think that it would have been better to just have a lab assistant walk us through one that was well laid out.

I am going to complain about another section of today’s lab exam. This section involved peeling the epidermis off of a leaf and then putting the epidermis under a microscope.

Everyone taking my biology course this semester did this about a month ago and almost everyone reported that it took them at least half an hour to peel the epidermis off of their leaves.

Considering this, I question whether it’s really fair to have this task on an exam that is only 90 minutes long. There was a lot of other stuff to do. I didn’t have time to get the damn epidermis off of the leaf, so I could not complete a full quarter of the exam.

I’m confident that I passed the exam, but it’s not going to be a very high mark.

I’d like to report that I really enjoyed taking biology and learning a bit about how stuff works, but to be honest, this ended up being one of those courses you just get through.

To end on a positive note, next semester I will be taking a course at BCIT as well as two here at Douglas. I also plan to check out BCIT’s peer tutor set-up to see if I want to work there. So there’s a couple of new experiences for me to look forward to.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. the most important lessons that biology courses taught me was:
    -mammals can contain at least 4 kidneys, and often no discernable gonads
    -waddya mean we’re not technocolour inside? WTF!

  2. mammals can contain at least 4 kidneys

    They can? Or are you indicating that it’s so bloody difficult to tell what you are looking at, that four things look like a kidney? (I’ll blame my stupidness on the fact tat it’s 2:15am…)

  3. I didn’t know that you were taking biology. Are you working on a specific degree?

  4. With this course, I have now completed an Associate of Arts Degree. I’ve also been taking courses towards a Computer Information Systems Diploma, but I don’t plan to pursue that much further at Douglas. After next semester, I’ll most likely be taking all my courses at BCIT.

  5. What’s an Associate of Arts Degree?

  6. Usually, someone with an Associate of Arts Degree transfers into third year University. It’s like taking the first two years of University at college.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

