I suppose I may never get it.

April 8, 2007 at 5:33 am | Posted in disability | 2 Comments

Tonight whimsicalzephyr and I attended the Vancouver Dungeon Play Party.

The VDPP takes place at the Carpenters’ Hall in New Westminster. The hall has different levels. Until last month, the socializing area and the BDSM playspace were separated into different levels.

Starting last month there was a new set-up at vancouver dungeon. The socializing area kind of surrounds the BDSM playspace. The socializing area is spread out over more levels. Zephyr and I didn’t go last month, so tonight was the first chance we had to see the new set-up. I was eager to see it because I’ve heard different opinions about whether or not it’s better than before.

I liked it. As a DM I can see a couple of potential problems, not big ones. But this post isn’t about my opinion of the setup. It’s about whimsicalzephyr‘s opinion:

“I hated it. Before, if I wanted to get from one side of the hall to the other, I could just walk across. Now I have to walk down two sets of stairs, across the hall, and up another two sets of stairs. I spent all night walking up and down stairs. If anybody asks me for my opinion, that’s what I’m going to say.”

I was surprised by her response, but what really surprised me was that I was surprised. After two years of seeing Zephyr’s disability every single day I still forget about it. I look down on other people for not taking the disabled into account, but here I am forgetting that not everyone can do what I can do. In spite of a mountain of reminders, I forget.

So … I don’t know. I don’t know what I’m going for here with this post at 5:58 am. insight? confession? perspective?

I guess I’ll try to remember this when somebody else fails to take my limitations into account.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. there are plenty of issues with kinky venues around Vancouver (stating the obvious) and sometimes accessability DOES makes the list…I recall hearing kinkytink and divine chatting about one of the WET spaces that was on the second-floor, no elevator.

    Can maybe WZ make some suggestions to the VD team about making the layout better for pervy people with mobility issues?

  2. To be fair, other than all the stairs I liked it fine.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

