boobies in public

June 13, 2007 at 5:03 am | Posted in interesting (to moose) | 11 Comments

Just in case you were wondering, it is now legal for women to be topless in public in Vancouver.

The Vancouver police board has ruled that “public female toplessness does not meet the test for criminal indecency” and therefore isn’t an indecent act. Police should not question or detain topless people.

Women can also swim topless at Vancouver’s public pools.

I’m getting this information from an article at the Georgia Straight Online.

11 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. There’s a lady around, in her 60’s I think, who will go and inform pools of the rules and swim topless, if she hears that there is a pool harassing people about it.

  2. Yay! Boobies!

  3. It’s possible I’m misremembering… but wasn’t that made legal about 15 years ago?

  4. uh … sorry I don’t have a link for you, but Linda Meyer, the woman mentioned in the article has swam topless in many public pools. I think that’s what lead to the official police decision.

  5. Yes I agree. I think that this case demonstrates how laws and rights and stuff need activism to make them “real”.

  6. Hooray! Now, to be brave enough to swim topless.

  7. I’ve swam topless in Vancouver pools. So can you.

  8. Alone or with other topless women?

  9. at the nude and clothing optional swims. It’s a start, anyway…

  10. Oh, well, I’d totally go nude at those. I’d have trouble being the only one in a pool of clothed people gawking, though.

  11. I guess it has to do with the percentage of gawkers vs gawkees. Think of Wreck Beach, or (in my case) some of the Poly camps/retreats that are clothing-optional. ‘Tis all about the context.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

