Speak up please

January 20, 2008 at 2:08 pm | Posted in Medical, Personal | 7 Comments

I have hearing loss. It’s not due to injury. The doctor informed me that her profession is seeing a significant increase in hearing loss in younger people (less than 60) because of genetics. That apparently is my situation.

I will probably get a hearing aid. It’s not necessary, but I’d be really pissed off at myself if I was in a preventable accident because I didn’t hear something.

I’m also going to have to learn to live my life of the left. My right ear is the good ear but I always seems to end up walking or sitting on the right, with my left ear facing the person who is talking to me.

I used to think that I’d won the jackpot in terms of genetics, what with all the people I knew who had inherited conditions such as allergies or asthma or diabetes. But in the past year a few problems have come up which have a genetic aspect to them.

I guess I’m not bulletproof after all.

Previous Personal Stuff:

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I will remember to articulate myself clearly 🙂

    I’ve had a 35-40% hearing loss in both ears since childhood, and wore a hearing aid for a couple of years after it was diagnosed. However, I found I was able to get by without it, and discontinued wearing it. Most of the time I have trouble is when people whisper or speak in a low voice, and it’s harder to hear male voices and accents. I rely a lot on lip reading, as it’s harder to hear when a person is looking away from me. Thank goodness for closed captioning 🙂

    I have considered getting a hearing aid again, but probably will not do so unless it really begins to affect me. I know the technology has changed since the time I wore an aid, so I’m curious to see the difference it makes for you if you decide to get one.

  2. The doctor informed me that her profession is seeing a significant increase in hearing loss in younger people (less than 60) because of genetics.

    Interesting that there is an increase due to genetics and not due to people blasting their stereos at dangerous levels. I would have thought the latter for sure.

    How significant is your hearing loss?

    I also have trouble with my hearing. I don’t have trouble hearing things–unfortunately, my hearing is quite good (it’s unfortunate when you live in a noisy building), but, I have trouble translating sounds into words. What I mean is, while I can hear the teacher talking, I can’t understand what he said, because I could not make out his words.

    I also can not stand noisy restaurants and cafes, because it is so hard to hear!

  3. There may also be increased hearing loss due to stereos cranked to eleven. We didn’t get into that.

    The doctor was a cute little thing in a lab coat. She reminded me of you.

    Um, I’m not sure how to describe how significant my hearing loss is. I sometimes have to focus to translate sounds to words.

  4. I too (although undiagnosed) have bad hearing, but mine is due to extensive scarring in my ears from years of ear infections and multiple surgeries to put tubes in my ears to drain fluid build up. I get really frustrated because I can’t hear, and it’s something I’m vaguely ashamed of. It’s the real reason why I sit near the front of the class, so I can hear better. Ben’s a mumbler, which really doesn’t help the situation.

    My dad is also mostly deaf and wears hearing aids in both ears, but that’s because he had a 1000 pound chain dropped on his head once, and he’s worked on noisy fishing boats almost his whole life.

    So…uh…you’re in good company!

  5. This deosn’t surprise me, given how often you would ask me to speak up, even given that I speak low a lot.

    My hearing loss is from being around a dad with severe hearing loss who blasts the TV at a thousand decibals.

  6. I guess I may owe you an apology for criticising your low volume speaking voice.

  7. Yes, it was always the left side I recall you having trouble with.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

