With Regrets to Old MacDonald

March 3, 2008 at 6:00 pm | Posted in environment, Personal | 4 Comments
Tags:

I’m going to try not eating cow and pig for a while. I’m trying soy “milk” as well. If that works out, I’ll probably try cutting out dairy.

I’m not taking a stance on chicken at this time. I’m going to wait awhile before making that decision. I think that I will continue to eat fish and other seafood.

There are three factors that have lead me to make this decision:

1. The animal cruelty issue.

I’ve been on the fence about this one for a long time. I’ve heard the arguments that cows have been bred to be pretty much just organic zombies. My personal experience with cows backs up that position, but I’ve only met a few.

No, it was not through cow tipping.

2. The environmental impact issue.

From Wikipedia: Livestock is responsible for 18% of the world’s greenhouse gas emissions as measured in CO2 equivalents. By comparison, the world’s entire transportation sector emits 13.5% of the CO2

This issue has a greater impact on me than the first one.

3. President’s Choice Meatless Meatballs and Meatless Chicken Breasts. Look for them at Supervalu, Canadian Superstore, Loblaws, and Extra Foods.

In my opinion, the Meatless Meatballs are indistinguishable from regular beef meatballs. I find that the chicken breast does taste like chicken. However the texture (but not taste) is more like a processed chicken burger.

And of course, many other miscellaneous factors.

So I guess when I go camping this summer, instead of roasting a hot dog on a stick I’ll roast a big clump of broccoli instead.

Yummm

Previous Personal Stuff:

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Even as a non-vegetarian, I like Yvve’s Garden Veggie burgers, not-so “chicken” burgers, and “Breakfast Links” (their answer to sausage) better than real meat for camping. It keeps better in the uncertain temperatures of a cooler – I’m less worried about food poisoning. Hot dogs are the one thing I haven’t found a satisfactory veggie equivalent for: neither the veggie nor the tofu dogs I’ve tried have that salty goodness/badness.

  2. Awesome. thank you.

  3. Boo!

    Were you surprised?

    There are a lot of changes that I’ve been considering making for years. I always figured that I would change when the time was right. Now the time seems right for some changes.

    What would you change greeny?

  4. I saw this on Cute Overload and laughed my ass off.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

