I can laugh about it now

February 20, 2009 at 1:37 am | Posted in Personal | Leave a comment

A friend of mine is lying in ice right now because of an allergic reactions to peanuts. She says that her skin is driving her crazy. I told her a story of a time that my skin was killing me. It’s a funny story, so I’ll share it with you as well.

I went to Wreck Beach and got a terrible sunburn on my legs. At the time I was working the night shift in a grocery store and I had to work that night. The sunburn was so bad that I couldn’t bend over. If I bent at all, the fabric from my pants would rub against my legs. I noticed that the store sold some lotion for sunburns. It was supposed to made the pain go away immediately. So I asked my coworker if he could cover for me for 15 minutes. There were only two of us in the store so we couldn’t take breaks at the same time. It was actually his time to take a break but he let me go first.

So I took this pink lotion to the employee washroom but when I opened the bottle it slipped out of my hands and the pink lotion went everywhere. It was on my uniform shirt and my pants and the walls and the floors. I had to clean it up off of the floor and walls, which meant I had to take my pants off because I had to get down on my hands and knees. Then I had to wash it off of my clothes.

I couldn’t get it out with paper towel so I had to run both my pants and shirt under the tap and they became soaked. Then I put the lotion on my legs and I had to put my wet clothes back on. All this took about 45 minutes. My workmate was calling me on the intercom to ask where I was.

I finally got back downstairs, dripping wet and took over the cash register so that my workmate could go on break. About 30 people came through in the next 15 minutes. Everyone of them asked me why I was wet. I told them that a pipe had burst because I didn’t want to tell the whole story 30 times.

And here’s the punchline:

After all that, the lotion didn’t even work!

But at least I don’t have any food allergies to worry about. Get better soon N.

Previous Personal Stuff:

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

