Today in Religion

March 14, 2009 at 8:54 am | Posted in Politics | 3 Comments
  • 10 reasons people like Buddhism and 5 reasons they do not:

    Over the past year and a half I have read a lot about Buddhism. Those readings have helped me recognize some of my inconvenient tendencies and have also helped me approach many situations in a calmer and more constructive way.

    However, I am not a Buddhist and I doubt that I ever will be. There are some Buddhist concepts that I do not agree with. For example, karma. I cannot accept that people deserve to suffer, especially for something that they did in a past life. To me, the idea of karma is akin to an Evangelical Christian saying it’s your fault that you have a disease; God is punishing you for your sins. Also, karma and reincarnation require a Judeo-Christian God who not only exists, but also cares about what happens to you and is hung up with the idea of justice. I see no empirical evidence that there is such a being. My aetheism toward Christianity also applies to Buddhism.

  • Aethist Bus Ads come to Ottawa:

    Speaking of atheism,

    Atheist ads will be running on Ottawa buses.

    Now stop worrying and enjoy your life.

    City council voted 13-7 yesterday to allow ads, which read: “There’s probably no God, now stop worrying and enjoy your life,” on OC Transpo buses.

    Humanist Association of Ottawa member Simon Parcher called the decision a great victory for all Canadians who care about free speech.

    The story also includes news of protest by Life Christian Academy principal Mike Karpishka and 40 of his students. Canadian Cynic is having none of that! WARNING: NSFW due to salty language.

  • Daring to utter the I-word on International Women’s Day:

    Sorry feminists, I’m almost a week late on this one.

    On International Women’s Day, what crossed my mind was the Violence Against Women exhibit I had walked past in the lobby of the Central Library on Dec. 6th, and the photos I had taken there but never found time to post. The exhibit marked the anniversary of the murder of 17 women at L’ecole Polytechnique in Montreal by Marc Lapine but was intended to raise awareness about violations of women everywhere.

    The women hosting the display had posted an assertion on one of their billboards that they believed it was important to identify themselves as “feminists” in a public space.

    They were willing to use the F-word in public space but apparently not the I-word. The fact that the shotgun murders of these 14 women was at least partially a product of the misogyny of Islam is one that has been largely censored by feminists as well as the mainstream media in Canada.

    I must admit, I did not know that. Thank you Downtown Eastside Enquirer for filling me in.

Previous Politics:

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. you might want to listen to a podcast called “bad buddhist radio”. it’s really good. it dispels a lot of the new age hippie mumbo jumbo added to buddhism like “karma”. a lot of that stuff didn’t make sense to me or click with me, and what he says makes sense.

    listen from the beginning. it’s good.

  2. OK,

    Q: why can’t the Buddha vacuum in the corners?

    A: because he has no attachments.

  3. HAHA i like that


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

