Cake of Resignation, Conjoined Crocodiles, and Indian Doctors Remove Iron Rod from Boy

March 16, 2009 at 5:39 pm | Posted in Interweb, Videos | Leave a comment
  • Cake of Resignation:

    This is all class. 100% sugary diabetes-inducing class.

    Today I gave a two week’s notice of my intent to resign. The letter was written in frosting on a full sheet size cake. The cake was delicious and it was well received.
    “Dear Mr. Bowers,

    During the past three years, my tenure at the Hunters Point Naval Shipyard has been nothing short of pure excitement, joy and whim.

    However, I have decided to spend more time with my family and attend to health issues that have recently arisen. I am proud to have been part of such an outstanding team and I wish this organization only the finest in future endeavors.

    Please accept this cake as notification that I am leaving my position with NWT on March 27.

    Sincerely, W. Neil berrett”

    Thanks for the tip-off boinboing.net

  • In Thailand, two crocodile siblings were born conjoined:

    Click the image to go to the video. Help me out with my Asian history/geography. Has Thailand replaced Siam, or is a different name for the same country? Are these crocodiles, in fact, Siamese Twins?

    This video prompted me to check up on Abigail and Brittany Hensel, a pair of conjoined twins in Minnesota who share almost an entire body. They appear to be a two headed person. However, they are two distinct people. I had read about them as children and am happy to learn that as adults they seem to be doing just fine. There are links to pictures in the Wikipedia article if you’re interested.

  • Indian doctors save boy impaled on iron rod:

    Some reports say the surgery was five hours. WARNING: picture of boy with iron rod through torso.

    Some reports say the surgery was three hours. WARNING: also picture of boy with iron rod through torso.

    I think anything short of 12 hours is miraculous. 3 to 5 hours means that the surgeon would have had time to squeeze in a couple of more surgeries that day.

    Surgeon’s Spouse: Hi sweet-falafel, how was your day.

    Surgeon: Oh, it was good. I performed an appendectomy, took out a little girl’s tonsils, and removed a five foot iron rod from a boy’s ribcage.

    The story reminds me of another Falling On Fence story which did not turn out so well. WARNING: gruesome imagery.

Previous Series of Tubes Stuff:

Previous (mostly) Youtube Videos:

Previous Interesting (to me) News:

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

