Urban Critters Friday – Bed Bugs, Toronto Illustrations, and Disappointed Cat

April 18, 2009 at 5:20 am | Posted in interesting (to moose) | 2 Comments

Animal FridayThis is the last of four articles for (Belated) Animal Friday, April 17th 2009

  • The Looooove Edition, Chimps, Elephants, Toronto Vet, and Children + Critters
  • Endangered – Blue Whales, North Van Bears, Banff Caribou, Wolves, Rainbow Finch, Leatherback Turtles, and Megamouth Shark
  • The Dog Edition – Russian Dogs, Sock Swallowing Dog, Life Saving Pup, and Bo Obama gets book deal!
  • Urban Critters Friday – Bed Bugs, Toronto Illustrations, and Disappointed Cat

United States Environmental Protection Agency hosts first-ever bedbug summit:

One of the problems with controlling the reddish-brown insects, according to researchers and the pest control industry, is that there are few chemicals on the market approved for use on mattresses and other household items that are effective at controlling bedbug infestations.

Unlike roaches and ants, bedbugs are blood feeders and can’t be lured by bait. It’s also difficult for pesticides to reach them in every crack and crevice they hide out in.

Yuck! This first critter isn’t very cute and cuddly, but it needs to be talked aboot. The good news is that bedbugs don’t spread diseases. The bad news is that you can’t get rid of bedbugs by cleaning your home. Bedbugs don’t eat dirt or crumbs; they eat blood. It’s doesn’t matter how clean your home is. If there’s a warm blooded creature in your home, it’s bed bug buffet.

To learn more aboot bed bugs, check out the City of Toronto’s Bed Bug Myth and Fact Sheet and What to do if you have bed bugs advice.

I lived in an apartment once with bed bugs and I managed to beat them:

  • I boiled my bedding for an hour, dried it, and then put it in the freezer for two days. I figured that would kill anything in there.
  • I wrapped my mattresses and pillows in plastic and sealed them with duct tape. It took a while to get used to sleeping on them, but I managed.
  • I took the frame of the bed apart and scrubbed it down with bleach.
  • I covered the legs of my bed with petroleum jelly.
  • I made sure that the blankets NEVER hung down to the floor. I did this by pinning the sheets together at the corner.
  • I moved my bed away from the wall and put double sided tape around the perimeter of my ceiling. I did this so that the bed bugs could not climb up the ceiling and then drop onto the bed. I put a strip of regular brown masking tape between the ceiling and the double sided tape so that the paint would not be damaged when I took it off.

And from then on, it was a waiting game. After aboot six months I stopped seeing any signs of bed bugs. I guess they gave up on me and decided to go next door. VICTORY IS MINE!!

Ontario Charming Comics from Rosemary Mosco:

Rosemary Mosco lives in Vermont, but seems to have spent a fair amount of time in Toronto. Clickity Click the header to see her work including her Wild Toronto series. I also really liked her Palaeobet (palaeontology alphabet) series.

She has quite the talent for anthropomorphizing city critters, and plants too. Her illustrations are so good I was almost nostalgic for Toronto.

Cat’s Bitter Disappointment After Sneaking Up On Pigeon

Hey, what more urban than a domestic cat trying to sneak up on a pigeon. Something aboot this cat’s body language tells me that it really reaaly reeeaally wanted that bird.

Previous Interesting (to Moose) News:

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Help!! I see that you use brown masking tape; I desperately need some! I’ve been looking all over Vancouver for them. Please help me and tell me where you found them! Thanks a bunch!!

    • Hi Winnie,

      The last time that I bought brown masking tape, it was at the Home Depot on Terminal Ave.

      A couple of months ago, I helped someone bed-bug proof their apartment. To save money, we decided to not buy double-sided tape. Instead we bought extra-wide masking tape and folded it over lengthwise so that it formed a kind of tube.

      Putting the tape around the room took longer to do that way, and it certainly isn’t pretty, but it actually worked out pretty well!

      So good luck in fighting the bedbugs. Be sure that your bedsheets don’t hang down to the floor.

      Colin.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

